Skip to main content

High level permission

Understand how access, roles, and sharing work across your workspace

folk is built for teams of all size to grow and scale. We've several level of permissions:

  • Workspace roles define what each user can access and manage across the entire workspace

  • Group permissions define what each user can see and do within a specific group

  • Connected accounts sharing show which accounts are connected and what's their sharing level.

Together, they ensure your team collaborates while keeping control over data and access.
​

Workspace roles

Managing permissions in folk helps you control who can access what, whether it’s at the workspace, group, or integration level.

At the workspace level, each member has a role that defines what they can access.

  • Owner: the owner is by default the user who created the workspace (ownership can only be transferred to another user by the owner).

  • Admin: has full access to workspace settings (owner is Admin by default). You can have multiple Admin roles.

  • Member: has limited access to workspace settings & billing. You can have multiple Member roles.


​

Owner

Admin

Member

Manage subscription & billing

See Plans

✅

✅

✅

Access Billing

✅

✅

❌

Upgrade/Downgrade subscription

✅

✅

❌

Manage workspace

Edit workspace name

✅

✅

❌

Edit workspace logo

✅

✅

❌

Delete workspace

✅

❌

❌

Leave workspace

❌

✅

✅

Manage members

Invite members (at your permissions level or below)

✅

✅

✅

Remove members (at same permissions level or below)

✅

✅

✅

Grant member roles

✅

✅

❌

Transfer workspace ownership

✅

❌

❌

Feature access

Add/edit sender

✅

✅

✅

See workspace accounts

✅

✅

❌

Verify domain

✅

✅

✅

Integrations with Zapier/Make

✅

✅

✅

Create groups

✅

✅

✅

Note that on the Standard plan, all users are Admin by default. Advanced roles are available on Premium.


Group sharing & permissions

When sharing a group to other members of your workspace, you'll be able to set up different permission access for each members you're sharing the group with.

We have 4 types of permissions:

  • Owner: the owner is by default the user who created the group (owner cannot leave or be removed from the group)

  • Full access: can edit contacts and structure and publish the group

  • Can edit: can edit contacts but can't edit the group structure and values

  • Can view: can only view contacts

Owner

Full access

Can edit

Can view

Group settings

Access group with assigned permissions

✅

✅

✅

✅

Rename group

✅

✅

❌

❌

Delete group

✅

❌

❌

❌

Share group to other members

✅

✅

✅

❌

Duplicate group

✅

✅

✅

❌

Remove group members

✅

✅

❌

❌

Edit members permissions

✅

✅

❌

❌

Contact management

Import a file (csv, xls)

✅

✅

✅

❌

Remove contacts from group

✅

✅

✅

❌

Delete contact from workspace

✅

✅

✅

❌

Add/create contacts

✅

✅

✅

❌

Rename contact

✅

✅

✅

❌

Add/edit contact picture

✅

✅

✅

❌

Add/edit contact fields

✅

✅

❌

❌

Enrich contact

✅

✅

✅

❌

Add a note on contact

✅

✅

✅

✅

Add a reminder on contact

✅

✅

✅

✅

Add an interaction on contact

✅

✅

✅

✅

Merge duplicates

✅

✅

✅

❌

View settings

Add/edit/delete view

✅

✅

✅

❌

Reorder views

✅

✅

✅

❌

Publish views

✅

✅

❌

❌

Export view as csv

✅

✅

❌

❌

Rename view

✅

✅

❌

❌

View/group actions

Add custom fields

✅

✅

❌

❌

Show/hide fields

✅

✅

❌

❌

Delete custom fields

✅

✅

❌

❌

Add/edit options for select fields

✅

✅

❌

❌

Edit magic field prompt

✅

✅

❌

❌

Reorder fields on contact

✅

✅

❌

❌

Add/edit filter

✅

✅

❌

❌

Edit sort by

✅

✅

❌

❌

Edit group by in pipeline view

✅

✅

❌

❌

Search

✅

✅

✅

✅


Connected accounts sharing

Admins and owners can see which accounts (email, WhatsApp, etc.) are connected by each member.

Where to find it

Settings → Connected accounts


You’ll see:

  • Your accounts → your own connections

  • Workspace accounts → other members’ connections (only visible to admins and owners.)

What you can see as admin and owner:

  • Connection status:

    • Connected

    • Disconnected

    • Missing permissions

    • Syncing

  • Interaction sharing level:

    • Private

    • Subject only

    • Shared

    • Activity only (WhatsApp)


Sender sharing

Each sender can be private or shared, impacting who can use the sender.

Admin

Member

List senders

✅

✅

Update signature

All senders

Only owned senders

Use sender

All senders

Only shared senders and owned senders

Delete sender

All senders

Only owned senders

Create sender

✅

✅

Update sharing

All senders

Only owned senders

Did this answer your question?